Black Friday 2026 · 27–30 Nov: we post real AI tool deals the day they go live. Open the tracker
Today's deals
AI Voice · updated 18 Oct 2026

ElevenLabs Alternatives 2026: 7 AI Voice Tools Compared

ElevenLabs alternatives: 6 AI voice tools with real prices. Murf from $19/mo billed yearly; TTSMaker free at 20,000 chars/week. Checked 18 Oct 2026.

By The AIDealsPro team · 10 min read · How we review
ElevenLabs logo
ElevenLabsVoiceovers and voice cloning
Starts at$6/mo ($5 annual)
Free optionFree plan
Try ElevenLabs Checked 18 Oct 2026 · affiliate link

AIDealsPro is reader-supported. Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes our verdicts.

How we review

The best ElevenLabs alternative for most creators is Murf: its Creator plan costs $29 a month, or $19 a month billed yearly ($228 a year), for two hours of voice generation monthly (checked 18 Oct 2026). It is the closest like-for-like swap. Budget picks: TTSMaker is free for 20,000 characters a week, and Narakeet sells one-time minute packs from $6.

Best for: creators and small teams who want a studio-style voice editor with predictable per-minute output — Murf’s Creator plan (2 hours of voice generation a month, $19 a month billed yearly, checked 18 Oct 2026) is the closest all-round ElevenLabs replacement.

Not for: anyone who chose ElevenLabs for its voice cloning or its 70+ language coverage — none of the six tools below matches that depth.

Starting price: $0 — five of the six tools below offer a free plan or trial (checked 18 Oct 2026). The cheapest paid tier overall is TTSMaker Lite at $13.99 a month ($9.99 a month billed yearly).

Why do people look for an ElevenLabs alternative?

The free plan is the first ceiling most people hit. ElevenLabs gives you 10,000 credits a month — roughly ten minutes of speech — with no commercial rights and required attribution (checked 18 Oct 2026). That is enough to compare voices side by side, but not enough to publish anything with.

Then there is the billing unit. ElevenLabs sells characters, not minutes: 30,000 credits on the Starter plan ($6 a month) converts to about 30 minutes of audio, and every rewrite or re-render consumes characters too. If you plan your output in minutes, you are doing division before every purchase decision — roughly 800–900 characters per minute.

The price ladder has a missing rung. Starter costs $6 a month and Creator $22, but the next step is Pro at $99 — a big jump for a publisher who simply outgrew two hours of audio. Add first-month promos that renew at full price, and the bill surprises people. Our ElevenLabs review walks through the character maths in detail, and our ElevenLabs pricing guide lists every plan with its annual equivalent.

Feature fit finishes the job. Professional voice cloning needs a large sample of clean audio plus verification; conversational AI agents bill separately per minute rather than drawing from your character pool; and dubbing or music generation drains credits far faster than narration. If any of that describes your use case, one of the six tools below is probably a better fit.

The 6 best ElevenLabs alternatives in 2026

All prices below were read on the official pricing pages on 18 Oct 2026, in USD. Annual figures are shown wherever the vendor offers annual billing. Together with ElevenLabs itself, these six tools make the seven this guide compares.

1. Murf — best all-round ElevenLabs replacement

Price: Free at $0 a month (10 projects, 10 minutes of voice generation, 1 editor, no commercial rights); Creator $29 a month billed monthly or $19 a month billed yearly ($228 a year); Business $99 a month billed monthly or $66 a month billed yearly ($792 a year); Enterprise custom (checked 18 Oct 2026).

Free plan: yes — the free tier includes 10 minutes of voice generation a month with no card required (checked 18 Oct 2026), which is enough to judge voice quality before paying.

Best for: creators who want a voice studio rather than a character meter. Creator includes 100 projects, 2 hours of voice generation a month and 200+ voices, styles and tonalities — the closest like-for-like swap for ElevenLabs’ narration workflow.

Trade-off: two hours a month is a hard cap on Creator, and the next step is Business at $66 a month billed yearly — more than triple the price. For light use, Murf is also far dearer than ElevenLabs Starter ($5 a month billed yearly for about 30 minutes of audio).

2. Speechify — best for reading text aloud

Price: a free tier (up to 1.5x speed, 10 robotic voices, text-to-speech only); Premium $29 a month billed monthly or $139 a year billed yearly — shown as a 60% saving (checked 18 Oct 2026).

Free plan: yes, a limited free tier for basic listening (checked 18 Oct 2026).

Best for: listening rather than producing — turning articles, documents and books into audio for yourself, plus accessibility use where a natural reading voice matters more than studio controls.

Trade-off: Speechify is a reading app, not a voice studio. There is no project-based voiceover workflow like ElevenLabs Studio or Murf, so it cannot replace either for published narration.

3. WellSaid — best for corporate voiceover

Price: Trial Free (no credit card required, 3 download minutes a month, no commercial rights); Starter $19 a month billed monthly or $10 a month billed annually ($120 a year, shown as saving 47%); Pro $49 a month billed monthly or $33 a month billed annually ($396 a year, shown as saving 33%); Business $160 a month per user billed annually ($1,920 a year); Enterprise custom (checked 18 Oct 2026).

Free plan: a trial with 3 download minutes a month and no commercial rights (checked 18 Oct 2026).

Best for: teams producing training and marketing voiceovers who want curated voice actors, caption files and full commercial rights from the Starter tier upward.

Trade-off: the trial cannot be used commercially, and Starter’s 240 download minutes a year works out at 20 a month — while monthly billing costs nearly double the annual rate ($19 versus $10).

4. Descript — best for editing podcasts and video by editing text

Price: Free (60 minutes a month, 100 AI credits one-time, watermarked exports); Hobbyist $24 a month or $16 a month billed annually; Creator $35 a month or $24 a month billed annually; Business $65 a month or $50 a month billed annually; Enterprise custom (checked 18 Oct 2026).

Free plan: yes — 60 minutes a month with watermarked exports (checked 18 Oct 2026).

Best for: podcasters and video creators whose workflow starts with a transcript — you edit the words on the page and the audio follows.

Trade-off: voice generation is one feature inside an editor, not a dedicated voice platform. If you only need narration, you are paying for editing tools you may never open, and free exports carry a watermark.

5. Narakeet — best pay-as-you-go option

Price: one-time credit packs — 30 minutes for $6 ($0.20 a minute), 300 minutes for $45 ($0.15 a minute), 1,000 minutes for $100 ($0.10 a minute), 2,500 minutes for $200 ($0.08 a minute), 10,000 minutes for $500 ($0.05 a minute). Free accounts get 20 conversions with no commercial use (checked 18 Oct 2026).

Free plan: a limited free account (20 conversions, no commercial use) rather than a recurring free tier (checked 18 Oct 2026).

Best for: occasional voiceover jobs where a subscription makes no sense — you buy minutes once and spend them whenever the work appears.

Trade-off: there is no subscription discount beyond the bulk packs, so the smallest pack is the most expensive per minute, and the free conversions cannot be used commercially.

6. TTSMaker — best free tier

Price: Free $0 (20,000 characters a week, maximum 500 characters per conversion, commercial use allowed, captcha and ads); Lite $13.99 a month or $9.99 a month billed annually ($119.88 a year, saving $36); PRO Mini $23.99 a month or $18.99 a month billed annually ($227.88 a year, saving $60); PRO Max $32.99 a month or $24.99 a month billed annually ($299.88 a year, saving $96); Studio $140 a month or $108 a month billed annually ($1,296 a year, saving $384) (checked 18 Oct 2026).

Free plan: yes — 20,000 characters a week with commercial use allowed (checked 18 Oct 2026), the most generous free allowance of any tool in this guide.

Best for: anyone who needs usable voiceover audio for commercial projects at zero cost and can live with a simpler interface.

Trade-off: the free tier shows captchas and ads, conversions are capped at 500 characters each, and voice quality varies across the 600+ voice catalogue.

Murf is our overall pick among the six alternatives, so here is its balance sheet:

Pros

  • The closest like-for-like ElevenLabs replacement: a voice studio with projects, 200+ voices, styles and tonalities, and per-minute output instead of character maths.
  • Free tier with 10 minutes of voice generation a month and no card required (checked 18 Oct 2026).
  • Creator’s 2 hours a month at $19 a month billed yearly ($228 a year) suits regular publishers.
  • Business adds a business licence, emphasis controls and 8 hours a month for teams.

Cons

  • Creator’s 2-hour monthly cap is hard — the next step is Business at $66 a month billed yearly, more than triple the price (checked 18 Oct 2026).
  • For light use it is far dearer than ElevenLabs Starter ($5 a month billed yearly for about 30 minutes of audio).
  • Monthly billing costs $29 versus $19 billed yearly — a 53% premium for flexibility.
  • No pay-as-you-go option: occasional users pay for a full month either way.

ElevenLabs alternatives at a glance

Use this to shortlist, then read the detail above before you pay. All prices checked 18 Oct 2026.

AlternativeStarts at (billed yearly)Free planBest for
Murf$19/moYes — 10 min/moAll-round ElevenLabs replacement
Speechify$139/yrYes — limited tierReading text aloud
WellSaid$10/moTrial — 3 min/moCorporate voiceover
Descript$16/moYes — 60 min/moPodcast and video editing
Narakeet$6 one-time20 conversionsPay-as-you-go minutes
TTSMaker$9.99/moYes — 20,000 chars/weekFree commercial use

What does a minute of finished audio actually cost?

Plan allowances convert to per-minute costs with simple division. All figures use prices checked 18 Oct 2026, with yearly billing where available. Speech is estimated at 850 characters a minute.

PlanPriceIncluded audioCost per minute
ElevenLabs Starter (monthly)$6/mo30,000 chars ≈ 35 min$6 ÷ 35 = $0.17/min
Murf Creator (billed yearly)$228/yr2 hrs/mo = 1,440 min/yr$228 ÷ 1,440 = $0.16/min
WellSaid Starter (billed yearly)$120/yr240 min/yr$120 ÷ 240 = $0.50/min
Narakeet 300-minute pack$45 one-time300 min$45 ÷ 300 = $0.15/min
TTSMaker Lite (billed yearly)$119.88/yr300,000 chars/mo ≈ 4,235 min/yr$119.88 ÷ 4,235 = $0.028/min
Speechify Premium$139/yrAllowance not stated on pricing pagen/a
Descript Hobbyist (billed yearly)$192/yrAllowance not stated on pricing pagen/a

On pure per-minute maths, TTSMaker’s annual Lite is the cheapest measurable plan — though its voices are simpler than Murf’s or ElevenLabs’. Among studio-grade tools, Murf Creator and Narakeet’s bulk packs cluster around $0.15–$0.16 a minute, while WellSaid’s curated quality costs about $0.50.

Who should stay with ElevenLabs?

If you use voice cloning — instant or professional — stay put. None of these six is a cloning-first platform, and ElevenLabs’ verification and voice library are the most mature here.

If you publish in many languages, ElevenLabs’ 70+ languages and dubbing have no equal in this list. WellSaid reserves additional languages for Enterprise, and the others are narrower still.

If you build on the API, ElevenLabs’ developer tooling is the deepest of the set, and heavy character-volume users get the best unit economics: Starter’s 30,000 credits at $6 a month work out at $0.20 per 1,000 characters.

And if your end product is video rather than audio, start with our HeyGen alternatives roundup instead — it compares seven avatar-video tools in the same format. For the wider voice category, our AI voice tools hub keeps every review in one place.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best free ElevenLabs alternative?

TTSMaker is the best free ElevenLabs alternative. Its free tier gives 20,000 characters a week — roughly 20 minutes of speech — and, unusually, allows commercial use without paying (checked 18 Oct 2026). The trade-offs are captchas and ads before each conversion and a 500-character cap per conversion. If you need a cleaner workflow, Murf’s free tier offers 10 minutes of voice generation a month.

Which ElevenLabs alternative is the cheapest paid option?

The cheapest paid route is Narakeet’s $6 one-time pack for 30 minutes ($0.20 a minute), if you only need audio occasionally (checked 18 Oct 2026). For a subscription, TTSMaker Lite is cheapest at $13.99 a month, or $9.99 a month billed annually. Both undercut ElevenLabs Starter ($6 a month) on entry price — but neither includes voice cloning or ElevenLabs’ language coverage.

Is Murf better than ElevenLabs?

For studio-style voiceover work, Murf is often the better pick: you get projects, 200+ voices and per-minute output instead of character maths. For voice cloning, long-form narration quality and language coverage, ElevenLabs stays ahead — none of these six alternatives is a cloning-first platform. Choose Murf if you edit voiceovers like video; stay with ElevenLabs if the voice itself is the product.

Can I use these ElevenLabs alternatives for commercial YouTube videos?

Yes, on the right plan. Murf Creator, WellSaid Starter and up, and TTSMaker’s free tier all include commercial rights (checked 18 Oct 2026). The traps are the free tiers: ElevenLabs’ own free plan, Murf’s free tier and WellSaid’s trial all forbid commercial use or require attribution. Always check the commercial-rights line on the pricing page before publishing monetised videos.

Which ElevenLabs alternative sounds the most natural?

Voice quality is subjective, but WellSaid’s curated voice actors and Murf’s 200+ studio voices are the closest to ElevenLabs’ natural long-form reads among these six. Speechify’s premium voices suit listening rather than publishing. The honest answer: use the free tiers — Murf gives 10 minutes a month and TTSMaker 20,000 characters a week — and compare with your own script before paying.

Do I have to pay yearly to get the best price?

No — every tool here offers monthly billing, but it costs noticeably more. Murf Creator is $29 a month monthly versus $19 a month billed yearly; WellSaid Starter is $19 versus $10; TTSMaker Lite is $13.99 versus $9.99 (all checked 18 Oct 2026). Start monthly while you are testing, then switch to yearly once your usage is steady and you know the tool fits.

Sources checked

  • ElevenLabs pricing — https://elevenlabs.io/pricing (checked 18 Oct 2026)
  • Murf pricing — https://murf.ai/pricing (checked 18 Oct 2026)
  • Speechify pricing — https://speechify.com/pricing/ (checked 18 Oct 2026)
  • WellSaid pricing — https://www.wellsaid.io/ai-voice-pricing (checked 18 Oct 2026)
  • Descript pricing — https://www.descript.com/pricing (checked 18 Oct 2026)
  • Narakeet pricing — https://www.narakeet.com/docs/pricing/ (checked 18 Oct 2026)
  • TTSMaker pricing — https://pro.ttsmaker.com/pricing (checked 18 Oct 2026)

Last updated 18 Oct 2026. Prices checked on elevenlabs.io/pricing and each alternative’s official pricing page on that date; confirm at checkout.

The AIDealsPro team

We read each tool's official pricing and docs, re-check prices monthly and say when we haven't used a paid feature ourselves.

How we review
Not convinced?

Alternatives to ElevenLabs

Same job, different trade-offs. Starting prices checked 18 Oct 2026.

Murf AI logo
Murf AI
Studio-style voiceover editor
Starts at$29/mo ($19 annual)
Free option10 min/mo free
Speechify logo
Speechify
Listening to text read aloud
Starts at$29/mo ($139/yr)
Free optionLimited free plan
Higgsfield logo
Higgsfield
Cinematic clips, many models in one plan
Starts at$9–$19/mo
Free optionSmall free plan
Keep reading

Related reviews

ElevenLabs · $6/mo ($5 annual)Checked 18 Oct 2026
Try it